Under The Stars

#RoadToMD: A Commemoration

Today would have been my graduation from medical school at PICC. Despite Miss Rona’s presence, allow me to commemorate the journey that was.
 
Tinawag ako ng Panginoon sa medisina sa paraang di ko inaasahan. I was called through a vision. While we were being taught how to meditate during this youth camp more than a decade ago, I saw a woman who looked like an older version of me, in a white coat and wearing a stethoscope. She sat on a monoblock chair, and scribbled quickly on an Rx pad. She handed this Rx to a faceless mother and child.
 
Then a voice said: I want you to be a doctor, to be hope for those who have none, and to make people realize that by being physically well, they can also be spiritually well.
 
It has been eleven years since that vision, and this is perhaps the longest ride I’ve been in. Yet, this #RoadtoMD has been both a humbling and inspiring one. I remain grateful to God for how He made His presence known through various avenues.
 
To my professors and seniors in this field, thank you for teaching me. You have instilled in me, through both word in deed, the weight of the responsibility that we carry. Thank you for constantly reminding me that being a doctor is not easy, but we make that choice to respond to the call anyway. (See you po sa OMMC! Hahahaha)
 
To my batchmates: We made #AllPass2020 happen! Thank you for reminding me that I am not alone. For allowing me to learn med from you, for the detox and chika sessions, and for all the pep talk you gave me when I wanted to quit during clerkship, thank you. I am confident that we’ll be the competent and compassionate physicians our patients need. Congratulations!
 
To my friends and loved ones: you have all been the faces of Jesus to me in this journey. God renewed my love for you all, through medicine. I wouldn’t have made it here without your unconditional support and care, which came in various forms. This victory is yours, just as it is mine.
 
To my patients: thank you. You gave me a renewed source of strength, to persevere as a doctor. Sa mundong ito na kay daling isipin na unahin ang sarili, kayo ang aking #ParaKanino. Shout out to the patients who encouraged me through words of affirmation or through GPCs, thank you. It is your kindness that gives refreshment to the weary heart of physicians like us.
 
Indeed, nothing compares to the glory of seeing God’s vision for you come true. I mentioned that I was called into medicine through a vision, and finally, it became a reality! This is truly the joy that only the Lord can give. Through medicine, God has completed my joy.
 
One day, I will enter the halls of the hospital again. I am still intimidated with this vocation God has called me to. But I know that I shall be able to be the doctor my patients need, not by might, not by power, but by God’s spirit. I will do my best to keep up with the Great Physician. For now, I will bask in His joy and rest in His love.
 
Congratulations to us, batchmates! 🎉 Padayon, Class of 2020!
 
Joan Claire C. Ravalo, MD
Doctor of Medicine
PLM College of Medicine, Batch 2020
 
 
Standard

Leave a comment